rtc

Icon

Self Determined Participatory Action of Marginalized Groups: The streets of São Paulo

What’s up…

After a period of silence on this site, here is a lifesign again with some updates and fresh stuff. One note on my silence first. I am writing my thesis right now and had literally no time to maintain this blog. I will try to change this for the time to come.

I would like to start with some updates for now. First of all, the subject of my thesis changed, shifting from the initial idea of researching grassroots mobile media usage and production in the struggle of marginalized people to a different theme. Thus, the title of my thesis changed from its initial proposal

Urban spatial information as commons: Potentials of mobile communication for peer based “produsage”

to

Self Determined Participatory Action of Marginalized Groups: The streets of São Paulo

I will explain this switch in the next post which will be taken off one section of the thesis methodology//self-conception chapter and that is talking about my experience in São Paulo. If I look at this blogs’ content, such a switch is somehow consequential.

Ok then, more stuff…

I already made all working documents of this thesis available. I use TeX for writing and pushed all my documents to github.com. This is nice for me because I won’t loose any documents and changes I made, I can work at different places, always having access to my files while others can make use of them as well, even though, their current form is far from being finished.

I am going to update this blogs’ link and publication list in the next couple of days as well because I got plenty of new and interesting stuff. I will also try to provide a section of open access journals that I make use of for accesing literature.

In the meantime I would like to spread some links that I found helpful (among others) for finding words that describe my approach to my chosen research actions. Those papers are mainly engaged in the question of being a (militant) activist in order to conduct (academic) research grounded in social struggle instead of staying disconnetced from it. Here they are, found at Periferies Urbanes

Anthropolgy in Action

Other worlds exist

The fire & the word: more on militant ethnography

 

Category: general

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

open access bibliography and sources

all literature references at rtc@zotero.org

open access thesis repository

all thesis Tex documents at rtc@github.com

opens maps

open map editing at

audio and video archives

all recordings at rtc@archive.org

contact

mail 2
r3cl41m [at] riseup (.) net [public key]

jabber chat
r3cl41m [at] jabber {.) ccc (.} de

archive